Posted by: schmoffly | December 7, 2009

Today

Don’t forget that today is National Pearl Harbor Remembrance Day.  On December 7, 1941, more than 3,500 Americans were injured or killed because of the surprise attack on Pearl Harbor.  President Franklin D. Roosevelt declared Dec. 7, 1941 a “date which will live in infamy.”

Take some time today to say a prayer for American soldiers who have been fighting since 1775 to keep this country a country of freedom for all.  No matter what your opinion is of the current situation in the Middle East, there have been times in the past (Germans, Russians, Austria-Hungary, Ottoman Empire of World War I and Nazi Germany and Japan of World War II) where American soldiers undeniably kept the world a safer, more free place for us. 

This point was really brought home to me by the past couple Black Friday sales days.  There is nothing wrong with saving money: it is the best day of the year to get necessary items at the cheapest price.  However, when stories surface of someone being trampled to death as people stampede to get the cheapest 50″ flat screen, or people camping out for 2 days to get a Playstation 3, I think about the soliers who are fighting for their lives against hostile forces and being killed and I think of soldiers camping out in the Afghanistan desert just wanting some shade.

We recieved a list of items today at work that the soldiers are requesting.  Check it out:

  • Powdered drink singles for mixing in water bottles
  • Chewing gum; it helps alleviate thirst
  • Plain cotton handkerchiefs
  • Magazines (used), on such subjects as sports, hunting, cars and gardening
  • Puzzle books, such as Sudoku or crosswords, with pencils
  • Lip moisturizers, such as Chapstick, with SPF protection
  • Hand cream in small pocket-size containers
  • Hair trimmers, gently used or new ones

Here we are, being put out because we didn’t save $200 on a $1,500 flat screen TV because Wal-Mart only stocked 136 and we were the 137th person and all the soldiers want for Christmas is some chapstick and a haircut.

Just keep these things in mind this Christmas.  Help someone out in need.  Support a group who sends gift boxes to soldiers.  If you don’t want to do that, go to Wal-Mart and buy one of the prepacked dinner bags for your local food bank so some unfortunate family can have a good meal this year.  For every dollar you spend on yourself this season, pledge to give $.25 or $.50 or even $1.00 to a charity or to a food bank or to a soldier fund.

I don’t believe Christmas is Jesus’ birthday anymore than I believe it is my birthday, but this time of year is one when most people are thinking about him.  Instead of his birth, let’s focus on his life for a little bit.  What did he say about helping people?  I end this with Matthew 25:31-46… read it and see if this doesn’t give you chills.  Which side do you find yourself on, the right or the left?

 31“When the Son of Man comes in his glory, and all the angels with him, he will sit on his throne in heavenly glory. 32All the nations will be gathered before him, and he will separate the people one from another as a shepherd separates the sheep from the goats. 33He will put the sheep on his right and the goats on his left.

 34“Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world. 35For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, 36I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’

 37“Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? 38When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? 39When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’

 40“The King will reply, ‘I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me.’

 41“Then he will say to those on his left, ‘Depart from me, you who are cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels. 42For I was hungry and you gave me nothing to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me nothing to drink, 43I was a stranger and you did not invite me in, I needed clothes and you did not clothe me, I was sick and in prison and you did not look after me.’

 44“They also will answer, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry or thirsty or a stranger or needing clothes or sick or in prison, and did not help you?’

 45“He will reply, ‘I tell you the truth, whatever you did not do for one of the least of these, you did not do for me.’

 46“Then they will go away to eternal punishment, but the righteous to eternal life.”

Responses

  1. Also, I have heard that beef jerky, nuts and card games are good.

  2. Josh, was there supposed to be some sort of debate that was going to stem from this? I’m confused. My opinion? I think it is a good idea. Of course I do.
    I also believe you have a comment waiting for conformation written by storiesofliving. I am confused because I myself did not write this. Disclaimer if you approve that comment. the words expressed by storiesofliving here on this blog are not the actual thoughts and opinions of the real storiesofliving. because i did not write them. that is all.
    With love,
    RossHoss

  3. Nope, no debate, Brother. Just a rally cry. Are you with me!?

  4. Awesome blog, Josh! Cathy’s son, Caleb, is in Iraq. I would love to send him a care package with some of the items you mentioned. Do you want to do it as a family? I was just sending a card until now…thanks for the gift suggestions! Great idea!
    Yes, we are a mixed-up group of people in this world. Sometimes I think about if God had an expression on his face when he looks down at us, so to speak, what would it be?


Leave a Reply

Categories

